Griz vs App State Preview - ABC FOX MONTANA NEWS, WEATHER, SPORTS - KTMF/KWYB

Griz vs App State Preview

Posted: Updated:

"For having Appalachian State coming into our house, under the lights, in Washington-Grizzly Stadium our team couldn't be more excited to get out on the field," said senior linebacker Brock Coyle.

"Well I think this is as exciting a game for anybody that is involved with FCS football could ask for," said Head Coach Mick Delaney.

The stage is set for another chapter in what has been a great little rivalry over the past few years between App State and Montana.  The difference in this matchup is the teams are more familiar with each other.  The Mountaineers topped the Griz 35-27 last year behind strong play from their stud quarterback Jamaal Londry-Jackson.

"We definitely know the type of player he is going against him last year and knowing the other guys they have around him.  I think 3 out of their five captains are on offense, two of their wide receivers and their quarterback so watching film their skill guys stand out a lot," said Coyle.

But for the Mountaineers, they won't be so familiar with the Griz quarterback Jordan Johnson, who will make his return after a well documented year off.

"With a player like JJ he is one of a kind and just having someone back there that we have the most trust in and he trusts us, as a receiver that just allows us to play one-hundred percent faster.  Just knowing he is going to do the right thing with the ball, we trust him and it's just exciting to have him back," said senior wide receiver Cam Warren.

For two teams that scored over 30 points per game this year defensive stops will be crucial.  The Mountaineers like the up tempo offense and the Griz conditioning will be tested.

"They will look to a get a play off every 12-14 seconds so we will see what happens with that.  Our defense is ready for that, we have a period in practice everyday where we go no huddle against the defense and they have handled it very well," said Delaney.

And if the hype wasn't high enough, both teams will also donning new uniforms, with the Griz wearing all maroon jerseys with new maroon helmets.

  • Most Popular

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • SO GOOD: Montana Tech's Xavier Marsden

    SO GOOD: Montana Tech's Xavier Marsden

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 8:26 PM EDT2014-04-17 00:26:24 GMT
    Sophomore cornerback Xavier Marsden is from La Mirada California, right outside Los Angeles. The city boy says he loves being in Butte. "It's been good. Coming from a big city to a small town definitely
    Sophomore cornerback Xavier Marsden is from La Mirada California, right outside Los Angeles. The city boy says he loves being in Butte.
  • Former Griz Football Player Battles Cancer

    Former Griz Football Player Battles Cancer

    Tuesday, April 8 2014 7:00 PM EDT2014-04-08 23:00:04 GMT
    A former Griz football player prepares to take on different kind of physical challenge, after learning he has cancer. Former linebacker Cole Lockwood got his diagnosis just last week and is now recovering
    A former Griz football player prepares to take on different kind of physical challenge, after learning he has cancer.
  • Trial Beginning In Spokane Stolen Car Shooting

    Trial Beginning In Spokane Stolen Car Shooting

    Monday, March 31 2014 1:52 PM EDT2014-03-31 17:52:27 GMT
    SPOKANE, Wash. - The trial is beginning this week in Spokane for a man accused of killing a man who was taking his SUV.
    SPOKANE, Wash. - The trial is beginning this week in Spokane for a man accused of killing a man who was taking his SUV. Gail Gerlach is charged with manslaughter in the March 2013 shooting of 25-year-old Brendan Kaluza-Graham. Gerlach says he fired when he thought he saw a gun. Police found no gun in the vehicle.
  • Montana Tech Football Building Momentum

    Montana Tech Football Building Momentum

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 11:37 PM EDT2014-04-17 03:37:21 GMT
    The Oredigger football team only has a handful of practices remaining before the Spring Game. Head Coach Chuck Morrell says the energy is high. "I love the way we're operating tempo wise right now.
    The Oredigger football team only has a handful of practices remaining before the Spring Game. Head Coach Chuck Morrell says the energy is high. "I love the way we're operating tempo wise right now.
  • Fatal Crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman

    Fatal Crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 5:27 PM EDT2014-04-16 21:27:10 GMT
    One person is dead, following a crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman on Wednesday afternoon. The crash happened shortly after 2 p.m. at the intersection of Frontage Road and Valley Center Road. ABC Fox Montana
    One person is dead, following a crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman on Wednesday afternoon. The crash happened shortly after 2 p.m. at the intersection of Frontage Road and Valley Center Road. ABC Fox Montana
  • Local Teenager Regains True Sense of Smell and Taste

    Local Teenager Regains True Sense of Smell and Taste

    Friday, April 11 2014 6:16 PM EDT2014-04-11 22:16:15 GMT
    Dara Crouse underwent a surgery today. First and foremost, the surgery happened to allow Dara Crouse to breathe. That's according to her mother, Jana Crouse. She realized her daughter had a problem
    Dara Crouse underwent a surgery today.
  • Latest of Noah Pippin's Death

    Latest of Noah Pippin's Death

    The Lewis and Clark County Sheriff's Search Team made their way through the Bob Marshall wilderness to search for new evidence with regards to the disappearance and death of Noah Pippin. They
    The Lewis and Clark County Sheriff's Search Team made their way through the Bob Marshall wilderness to search for new evidence with regards to the disappearance and death of Noah Pippin.
  • Brewery Gets A Boost

    Brewery Gets A Boost

    Wednesday, April 2 2014 8:22 PM EDT2014-04-03 00:22:45 GMT
    The beer business is getting a boost over in Whitefish. The Great Northern Brewing Company just got 3 new 100-barrel fermenting tanks set up on Wednesday to the tune of nearly $250,000. Later
    The beer business is getting a boost over in Whitefish.
Powered by WorldNow

Features

  • More Features
  • Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Cowles Montana Media. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.