Missoula Volleyball Preview - ABC FOX MONTANA NEWS, WEATHER, SPORTS - KTMF/KWYB

Missoula Volleyball Preview

Posted: Updated:

Entering the year all three Missoula AA schools have the same goal, improve from a season ago.  The defending city champion Sentinel Spartans missed out on a trip to state after losing to Helena in the playoffs.  The Spartans have a new head coach in Erin Keffeler and return four starters from last years squad.  They are undersized but hope their defense will make up for that and players say they have high expectations in 2013.

"Hopefully top of the conference in the West, hopefully top at state.  I really think we can do it though we are really scrappy and we have a lot of heart that we play with," said senior middle blocker Krista Hunton.

"It would be awesome if we made it to state this year, we didn't last year and I think we have the potential to do it this year and even do really well at state so it would be awesome," said junior defensive specialist Lauren Cady.

Across town at Big Sky the Eagles get ready for their season opener on Saturday.  Big Sky lost half a dozen seniors but have an infusion of young talent that will look to fill those shoes.  The Eagles are coached by Audrey Tomisch who says this is the hardest working group of girls she has taught in her twelve years at the helm.

"I'm really excited for this year I think we are going to be an awesome team, we are just all getting along together really well and these two-a-days have been gong really well," said senior setter Madison Winz.

"This team is a little different we are younger and only have five seniors this year but we are really positive and coach T says we are really self motivated so I have high hopes for us this year," said senior libero Sierra Lenox.

And over at Hellgate the Knights are confident they will be better than their two win season from last year.  The Knights only lost two seniors from last year and have a ton of young talent.  Head Coach Christine Hiller-Claridge says the ceiling is pretty high for her squad and the players are ready to go out and see what they can accomplish.

"We're super excited, we're really excited to go out there and see what we can bring and it's a young team with a lot of potential and talent so we are excited to see what we can do," said senior libero Kallie Elliott.

"I'm really excited this year is going to be fun I know the chemistry is really great on this team and I think we can pull out a few wins this year," said junior setter Paula Woerlein.

  • Most Popular

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • SO GOOD: Montana Tech's Xavier Marsden

    SO GOOD: Montana Tech's Xavier Marsden

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 8:26 PM EDT2014-04-17 00:26:24 GMT
    Sophomore cornerback Xavier Marsden is from La Mirada California, right outside Los Angeles. The city boy says he loves being in Butte. "It's been good. Coming from a big city to a small town definitely
    Sophomore cornerback Xavier Marsden is from La Mirada California, right outside Los Angeles. The city boy says he loves being in Butte.
  • Former Griz Football Player Battles Cancer

    Former Griz Football Player Battles Cancer

    Tuesday, April 8 2014 7:00 PM EDT2014-04-08 23:00:04 GMT
    A former Griz football player prepares to take on different kind of physical challenge, after learning he has cancer. Former linebacker Cole Lockwood got his diagnosis just last week and is now recovering
    A former Griz football player prepares to take on different kind of physical challenge, after learning he has cancer.
  • Trial Beginning In Spokane Stolen Car Shooting

    Trial Beginning In Spokane Stolen Car Shooting

    Monday, March 31 2014 1:52 PM EDT2014-03-31 17:52:27 GMT
    SPOKANE, Wash. - The trial is beginning this week in Spokane for a man accused of killing a man who was taking his SUV.
    SPOKANE, Wash. - The trial is beginning this week in Spokane for a man accused of killing a man who was taking his SUV. Gail Gerlach is charged with manslaughter in the March 2013 shooting of 25-year-old Brendan Kaluza-Graham. Gerlach says he fired when he thought he saw a gun. Police found no gun in the vehicle.
  • Montana Tech Football Building Momentum

    Montana Tech Football Building Momentum

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 11:37 PM EDT2014-04-17 03:37:21 GMT
    The Oredigger football team only has a handful of practices remaining before the Spring Game. Head Coach Chuck Morrell says the energy is high. "I love the way we're operating tempo wise right now.
    The Oredigger football team only has a handful of practices remaining before the Spring Game. Head Coach Chuck Morrell says the energy is high. "I love the way we're operating tempo wise right now.
  • Fatal Crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman

    Fatal Crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman

    Wednesday, April 16 2014 5:27 PM EDT2014-04-16 21:27:10 GMT
    One person is dead, following a crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman on Wednesday afternoon. The crash happened shortly after 2 p.m. at the intersection of Frontage Road and Valley Center Road. ABC Fox Montana
    One person is dead, following a crash on Frontage Road in Bozeman on Wednesday afternoon. The crash happened shortly after 2 p.m. at the intersection of Frontage Road and Valley Center Road. ABC Fox Montana
  • Local Teenager Regains True Sense of Smell and Taste

    Local Teenager Regains True Sense of Smell and Taste

    Friday, April 11 2014 6:16 PM EDT2014-04-11 22:16:15 GMT
    Dara Crouse underwent a surgery today. First and foremost, the surgery happened to allow Dara Crouse to breathe. That's according to her mother, Jana Crouse. She realized her daughter had a problem
    Dara Crouse underwent a surgery today.
  • Latest of Noah Pippin's Death

    Latest of Noah Pippin's Death

    The Lewis and Clark County Sheriff's Search Team made their way through the Bob Marshall wilderness to search for new evidence with regards to the disappearance and death of Noah Pippin. They
    The Lewis and Clark County Sheriff's Search Team made their way through the Bob Marshall wilderness to search for new evidence with regards to the disappearance and death of Noah Pippin.
  • Brewery Gets A Boost

    Brewery Gets A Boost

    Wednesday, April 2 2014 8:22 PM EDT2014-04-03 00:22:45 GMT
    The beer business is getting a boost over in Whitefish. The Great Northern Brewing Company just got 3 new 100-barrel fermenting tanks set up on Wednesday to the tune of nearly $250,000. Later
    The beer business is getting a boost over in Whitefish.
Powered by WorldNow

Features

  • More Features
  • Powered by WorldNow
    All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and Cowles Montana Media. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.